Sustainable Research Pathways Team Recognized by DOE

Sustainable Horizons Institute wishes to applaud Dr. Alina Lazar (Youngstown State University Professor) and her Sustainable Research Pathways student team: Alexandra L. Ballow and Tyler J. Liebengood (Mathematics and Physics Majors at Youngstown State University). This research team was recently recognized by the Department of Energy Office of Science for their work at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. This is Dr. Lazar’s second year participating in summer research at Berkeley. After applying for the Sustainable Research Pathways Fellowship in the fall of 2016, Dr. Lazar was invited to attend a workshop at Berkeley that December. During the workshop, Dr. Lazar presented her work and met with Computing Sciences Lab Staff to discuss potential research collaborations. Dr. Lazar was awarded a summer research experience for┬áherself and a team of students from Youngstown State University. We are especially pleased to honor this research team and their accomplishments.